Might Not Be Smarter Than A Fifth Grader

12 Sep

You guys are going to have to forgive my short post tonight. Sitting out at another of the Big Boy’s football practices, the Big Girl pleaded with me that she be allowed to tag along so that I could help her with her math homework. Figuring that I could kill two birds with one stone, I acquiesed but reminded her to bring her classwork along so we could use what she learned in school today as a point of reference.

Well folks, for all the honors I graduated with, and as smart as I believed myself to be, I promise you I had to have a CTJ (Come to Jesus) moment or two when working with this child on her homework. Graphical inputs and outputs? Metric conversion without a reference table? Factor Puzzles? C’mon man (Keyshawn Johnson voice)! What happened to products and quotients; fractions and equations?

Now don’t get me wrong, my nephew is tackling High School Geometry right now, so compared to his “new math” this is a cake walk…but still. It’s like in this day and age, the school system is determined to school not only the child, but the parent as well.

You guys, I’m revisiting primary school all over again, sheesh!

Leave a Reply

