Wacka Flocka Fool: Fozzy Is SO Sharp!

6 Oct

What does as a Southern rapper with aspirations of majoring in Geometry and who encourages his fans to vote (“Votin’ good; votin’ cool.”) have in common with a militarily astute Italian philosopher who is pretty much the father of political science as we know it and who was just as much a man of the people as he was a critical Renaissance mind?

Mmm, Hmm. I’ll wait…

That’s correct class, nothing.

Perusing the New Music Tuesday directories on the web yesterday for some creative additions to my music catalogue, I stumbled upon the above bit of pictorial album cover foolery.  And before I begin my mini rant on yet another reason why I can only take most commercial rap music in small, teaspoon-sized doses, let me just state that aside from his inarticulate subject-verb agreement on 106 & Park a few weeks ago, I don’t know much about Waka Flocka Flame *giggles* (sorry, I can’t help but to think of Fozzy Bear whenever I say his name). 

Now, with that caveat out of the way, I will admit that after realizing Fozzy’s Flocka’s new release Flockaveli was not a Funnyordie.com Pac remake spoof, I did read up on a few interviews to see what this fool’s possible motivation could be for adopting an album moniker that would automatically force people to draw comparisons between him and arguably one of the best lyricists of all time.  Well apparently, his motives didn’t have that much to do with Tupac Shakur at all:

“Tupac introduced me to the [writing] of Machiavelli.  That’s why I made that. I can’t just, ‘Oh, Tupac did that, so I’m gonna do that too.’ If people read, they would love that man. That man is a mind-game genius. I read the Machiavelli war-tactic books, his biography, everything. That man is just like sticks and stones, bad. You see Waka Flocka, what do you think? Negativity. You read Machiavelli? Negativity. My brain, I’m so sharp, I can play stupid on the camera and they think I’m dumb. So really, you just playing yourself. I’m so ahead of y’all. That’s for the bloggers.”

Well, that clears that up. 

Mr. Flocka Flame has simply been employing strategies from Niccolo Machiavelli’s The Art of War to make everyone think he is cerebrally inept.  If that is the case, then congratulations are certainly in order because you sir had me convinced at “sticks and stones.”

Leave a Reply

